Shotgun Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a recently-purchased Mossberg 500 12 gauge that I'd like to take skeet shooting. What type of sights would be best for this purpose? I have a Hogue stock & fore end set coming for it, as well as a 28" barrel (it was originally a pistol-grip, 20" barrel HD gun). Just want to get the right sights for skeet to go along with the other changes. Any suggestions? :confused:

P.S. - I'm new to the world of shotguns (but not to firearms - I have 8 others) and have never shot skeet. Any advice is appreciated!

·
Registered
44 Posts
Traditional wing shooting technique dictates that if you are focusing on the front sight, you will miss. Therefore, replacing the stock front with something that takes your focus away from the target is a negative, not a positive. This would especially apply to skeet - you just don't have time to look for a front sight. Other than shooting stationary targets, such as deer or turkey, a shotgun is pointed, not aimed.

If you can join a skeet league and/or get some instruction, you will be way, way ahead, even if you have to pay for it.

·
Registered
18 Posts
No rear sight at all! As for the front sight, if you're looking at it, you're missing. Supposing the shotgun actually fits you, when you put it in the shoulder pocket all you're seeing is the front sight, looking straight down the top of the barrel, them just keep your eye on the target, bring the gun up until it touches your cheek, nod slightly, watching the target all the time, pull the trigger.

The hard part is not thinking/aiming too much.

·
Registered
1,441 Posts
Sights? We don't need no stinking sights!
Clays move at 60 mph and sights are near useless in acquiring, tracking and blasting the target.
What I do see is the barrels, upper rib and front bead.
The simple brass front bead and upper rib is all I need. :)

·
Registered
216 Posts