Shotgun Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to shotguns, so my knowledge level is "beginner stage". I inherited a Stevens Savage Model 59A .410 shotgun. I know it works. From what I've read, I know it is not the best "home defense" shotgun, but it is all I have at the moment. I have multiple questions.

1. How can I best make it viable for "home defense"?
2. Would 3" Brenneke Magnum shotgun slugs be a wise choice?
3. Or how about 2.5" Hornady Critical Defense/Triple Defense be better (41 caliber FTX slug + two 35 caliber round balls)?
4. Can the shotgun be loaded with both shells, one behind the other or is that not a good idea?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks folks.

·
Registered
188 Posts
A shotgun can be a very good defensive weapon. However I'd rate a 410 dead last on the list. A 12 or 20 ga is much better. And I reload and shoot several 410's all the time.

·
Registered
11 Posts
The barrel should be stamped indicating the cartridge length allowed.
It might be stamped “For 2-1/2” shells” . Do not exceed that length when buying shells.

I recommend the .410 shells marketed for home defense. PDX or three ball.
Hunting loads with #6 or larger shot will work too and be less expensive.
I prefer multiple projectiles over slugs.
Alternating different type loads is referred to as a Dutch load.
I hope you have some fun shooting it.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Nice little shotgun, I have a slightly older Stevens model 59 but it's basically the same firearm.
With the development of .410 handguns there are a number of home defense loads available these days but as has already been mentioned make sure they'll fit the chamber of your particular shotgun.
For close distance .410 home defense/varmint loads I use either three .375 soft lead round balls or two soft lead 38 caliber full wadcutter cast bullets as slugs over 10 grains of Hodgdon Li' Gun powder in Rocky Mountain Cartridge 2 1/2 all brass shells.