Shotgun Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
12,957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, due to a recent falling out with a friend and a few threats its time i start a few upgrades on the shotgun. We have limited resources when it comes to firearms and im starting to see why you guys like shotguns as your main HD gun. The 870 express is the first firearm i purchased and that was only 2 years ago so im kinda new to all of this. It has a 26" vent rib on it with the laminate stock/forend. As it sits right now the only thing i have on it is a butt stock sleave for 5 rounds. Im looking to add a few things to it like a +5 tube and a sling. Wanted to get an opinion on a few things and you guys are more than welcome to suggest stuff to me. For the mag tube i want to use Nordic Components and the sling would be the Specter Gear 2 point tactical. If you guys have used these parts i would love to hear what you have to say.

·
Registered
12,957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I would reconsider the 870. I have one but the difference between mine and your is barrel length. 26' might be a little large for home defense, Mine is 18' and I still feel thats too large.

If you have the cash, buy something with a shorter length in barrel, or just buy the barrel and swap it out.

And if your having threats made to you and your home. Calling the Fuzz might be your best and safest bet. You dont want a problem protecting your home, so saying things about your ol' friend are best left off the web.

·
Registered
12,957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have 2 870's that I got from walmart and made it a "tactical" and "home defense". Both were the express models and both had 28in barrels. One I got a blackhawk shell holder sling, knoxx recoil reducing compstock with hogue forend, factory 2 shell mag tube extension, tacstar side saddle and a Remington 18in barrel

The other has a 18in barrel, and a hogue pistol grip and forend