Shotgun Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started shooting trap a couple years ago and while I have improved some, but I still think I should be shooting better. I have shot right handed all my life but know that I am left eye dominate. I am considering trying to shoot left handed to see if that helps.

Has anyone on the board switched sides because of eye dominance and did you see an improvement, how long did it take to get used to shooting from the opposite side? I am planning on trying it this week and we will see how it goes.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I'm in the same boat, my problem is all my guns are right handed. Let me no how it goes . Wish you well

·
Super Moderator
6,579 Posts
With some due diligence you should be able to do better in a few weeks to a few months. You can jump start the process by practicing your mount in front of a mirror - a lot.

·
Super Moderator
7,451 Posts
i am left eye d' and right handed. i shoot from my left shoulder. never an issue. heck, won numerous world titles with it.

Reactions: Muleco

·
Registered
37 Posts
Moonlight,

If you find it difficult to switch sides you can try an old trick used for decades by many shooters in the same position. Add a very small amount of Scotch tape on the surface of the left lens of your shooting glasses in line with the eye. The idea is to obscure the left eye and keep the right clear. It works for some shooters. Good luck.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·