Shotgun Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently acquired a 1960 - 1970's J. C. Higgins, Model 21, Ted Williams Shotgun and was wondering what its value might be. Its in excellent condition and has a feature that I'm not familiar with . . . an adjustable choke setup attached to the end of the barrel. Can someone give me an idea of how it operates? Obviously I'm not experienced with choke shotguns. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
7,541 Posts
hey devil dog........

its about a 200.00 gun. sounds like you have whats called a pickle on the end. if it twists, its a varichoke, where you can change the choke by twisting it to the marks on the choke body.
its a utility gun. should give you good service.

·
Premium Member
7,541 Posts
here......i pulled this off the net fyi...
========

According to IMFDB.org “The J.C. Higgins Shotgun Series was a branded commercial shotgun, manufactured by High Standard Arms under contract for the department store chain Sears & Roebuck. J.C. Higgins was specifically a Sears firearms line and was sold in its stores and through its catalog for many years. It was very common in the first half of the 20th century for large retail outfits like Sears, Woolworths, Great Western and others to have firearms manufactured by American gun companies and then sell them under them under their own line. Typically these contract guns were no-frills and therefore more affordable, but quality didn't suffer. The Model 21 "Ted Williams" Deluxe was obviously a more luxurious model. J.C. Higgins was actually a long-term employee of Sears who passed away in 1950. The J.C. Higgins Model 21 "Ted Williams" Deluxe was essentially the same shotgun. The only real difference was cosmetic and therefore it had higher price tag.”

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
here......i pulled this off the net fyi...
========