Shotgun Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the shotgun sports and trap is the first one I want to try. I want to make sure I'm not "that guy" that does that one thing that annoys everyone else. So, tell me about the unwritten rules of the sport.

For instance, the only shotgun that I own is an auto-loader. The husks don't fly real far, but they might go far enough to hit the guy next to me. Is this rude or just expected? Should I pick them up before changing stations or just kick them out of the way?

Anyway, any tips you have are appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had my terminology mixed up, I guess. Hulls, casings, shells -- thankfully you knew what I was talking about.
I've also looked into shell/casing catchers -- looks like a $20 solution to the problem, but you have to glue something to your gun :(

I think the local club has voice activated throwers for trap, so I'm pretty sure you can't do much talking without making one fly, anyway -- but, it's good advice. Thanks.

Anyone else want to chime in on what not to do? ;) I would appreciate it!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I went to the local club and shot a practice round. It went terribly. I think I hit 5 out of the 25 that were launched. Just atrocious... a big problem I have is getting on target quick enough. I could feel myself waiting for that perfect sight picture, but by the time I was on it, the bird was descending and I would over shoot it. At least, that's what I think was happening.

Anyway, the funny part of the round was on station 4. The empty would kick out of my auto-loader and hit the microphone stand for station 5; causing another bird to fly, immediately. The first time it happened it was a fluke. By the 4th time, I could tell this was a problem that I need to fix before I shoot with anyone else.