Shotgun Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the shotgun sports and trap is the first one I want to try. I want to make sure I'm not "that guy" that does that one thing that annoys everyone else. So, tell me about the unwritten rules of the sport.

For instance, the only shotgun that I own is an auto-loader. The husks don't fly real far, but they might go far enough to hit the guy next to me. Is this rude or just expected? Should I pick them up before changing stations or just kick them out of the way?

Anyway, any tips you have are appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
85 Posts
Hulls no, casings yes, but pick them up when you're all done.

Don't talk, save it for later. Unless you need help, your only word should be PULL! :cool:

Also, keep the gun with the action open until you're at the line, only one shell (if singles) at a time.

Have fun!

Tapatalk - Helping people post from bathrooms since 2009.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had my terminology mixed up, I guess. Hulls, casings, shells -- thankfully you knew what I was talking about.
I've also looked into shell/casing catchers -- looks like a $20 solution to the problem, but you have to glue something to your gun :(

I think the local club has voice activated throwers for trap, so I'm pretty sure you can't do much talking without making one fly, anyway -- but, it's good advice. Thanks.

Anyone else want to chime in on what not to do? ;) I would appreciate it!

·
Premium Member
149 Posts
There is a nice trap and skeet club here in Austin that I would like to go checkout myself. So any info y'all could provide for us noobies would be greatly appreciated so that we don't look like idiots out there :)

·
Registered
85 Posts
Hard to explain, but you'll figure it out once you get through a couple rounds... You want to try and keep a pace, and you'll get a feel for it.

It kind of throws you off when you hear:

Pull!...
Pull!...
Pull!...