Shotgun Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to shot shell reloading and have not figured out all the tricks of the trade yet. I thought I was following a "recipe" perfectly, however, the crimps are too deep. It appears the top rim of the wad is 1/8" below the crimp bevel, thus the deep crimp. I have only loaded 2 shells, as something is not right. My gut is telling me the stack needs to be 1/8" longer for the crimp to be correct. The following is what I doing:

12 Gauge
Hull: Federal Top Gun, 2-3/4"
Primer: W209
Powder: Alliant Red Dot
Charge: 18 Grains
Wad: CB2118-12
Shot: 1-1/8oz #8
Loader: Lee Load All II

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tusker02

·
975 Posts
I just downloaded a Lee Load All II owner's manual and the bad news is that the crimp isn't adjustable according to the manual. It states that if you have this problem, you should use a longer wad. The text in red I copied from the manual. It looks like your wad is around 0.050" too short.

IMPORTANT A good crimp can only be obtained if the wad is the correct length. After the shot is added, there should be about 1/2 inch of shell above the shot on a 12 gauge; about 7/16 inch for the 20 gauge; and just slightly more for the 16 gauge. If the crimp is too deep with a hole in the center, use a longer wad. Mashed in crimps or crushed cases indicate the wad should be shorter.

Unfortunate, but it looks like that's the way it is.

I'm sure you don't want to hear it but it's easily correctable if you have a loader that has adjustments.

·
Super Moderator
6,643 Posts
Are you sure you are dropping 1-1/8n and not merely 1oz? (Have you weighed you powder and shot charges?)

What wad is that? Alliant shows a CB 6118-12, not a 2118 for 1-1/8 oz of Red Dot. They also do not show that primer and wad and powder combination, so where did this load data come from?

·
Registered
183 Posts