Shotgun Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12,957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a nice deer slug gun but I have little knowledge on shotguns and the price range. I have been told by hunting friends to look at the Remington 870, 887, Benelli Nova, or the Benelli Supernova. I know I will want one that already comes with a rifled barrel and would like for it to have a cantilevered barrel to mount a decent scope on. I have been searching a little and prices are all over the place.

Any help from experienced hunters would be appreciated. I don't want the biggest, baddest gun on the market because I am trying to be reasonable since I am just beginning to hunt. I also know I will have to wait a year until deer season comes back around but I thought I would start shopping early for the best deal.

Also, this will be a deer only gun. I have no desire as of now to hunt anything else and will be purchasing a tactical shotgun for home defense in the near future.

·
Registered
12,957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
My LGS recommended the Remington 870 as the HD and hunting rifle. I bought the rifled slug barrel, the short barrel for HD and it came with a long barrel for skeet/waterfowl. So one gun, three barrels.

I just got it last month and haven't gone hunting yet, but I trust my LGS and am hoping to get out next season with it.

·
Registered
12,957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I agree with PistolEd...you can't go wrong with the 870. It's a great shotgun to start hunting with. It was my first shotgun when I started hunting 20 years ago and I still have it. They are nearly indestructible and they shoot great too. You can get them as a combo with a smooth bore and a rifled barrel. I would suggest you do that, who knows you may end up hunting something else in addition to deer later on and the smooth bore will come in handy....and you won't need to buy another gun.

·
Registered
12,957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·