Brand New Owner, Need Ammo Advice - Shotgun Forums

Shotgun

Brand New Owner, Need Ammo Advice

This is a discussion on Brand New Owner, Need Ammo Advice within the Shotgun Ammo forums, part of the Shotgun Forum Discussions category; Hey everyone. Got myself a DP-12, and I'm looking for ammo. Although I wouldn't say I'm a stranger to firearms- I've had a S&W .40 ...

Go Back   Shotgun Forums > Shotgun Forum Discussions > Shotgun Ammo

Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By RKB
  • 1 Post By Geobob
  • 2 Post By dawgs2

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2020, 12:35 PM   #1

Member #17844
Brand New Owner, Need Ammo Advice

Hey everyone.

Got myself a DP-12, and I'm looking for ammo.

Although I wouldn't say I'm a stranger to firearms- I've had a S&W .40 M&P since 2009- I have very little experience with shotguns. So I'm looking to practice as soon as possible.

Can you fine people give me recommendations on ammunition for practice, as well as what to stock for home defense? I understand buck, bird and slugs. I have a rather amateurish question about that though- is there a difference between practice slugs and home defense slugs?

If you need further clarification on what I'm looking for I'm happy to provide. Just to be clear, this is 12ga ammo for the DP-12 by Standard Manufacturing.

Thank you so much!
Unichrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 07-18-2020, 03:23 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Member #1368
What are practice slugs? Why would you want to use slugs for HD where distances are measured in feet?
Practice running your gun with inexpensive target loads so you can get the feel of the gun and how it operates.

DP-12 is the double pump from CSMC's "tactical" subsidiary. I can tell you that it and the Kel-tec version do not handle any of the mini shells worth a damn.
oneounceload is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2020, 03:27 PM   #3

Member #17844
Originally Posted by oneounceload View Post