Best 12ga slug for elephant - Shotgun Forums

Shotgun

Best 12ga slug for elephant

This is a discussion on Best 12ga slug for elephant within the Shotgun Ammo forums, part of the Shotgun Forum Discussions category; In an effort to be prepared for a very unlikely situation, I am trying to get some info on what would be the best 12ga ...

Go Back   Shotgun Forums > Shotgun Forum Discussions > Shotgun Ammo

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By oneounceload
  • 3 Post By Hard H2O
  • 2 Post By ChanceMcCall
  • 1 Post By pbansen

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2019, 09:10 AM   #1

Member #16716
Best 12ga slug for elephant

In an effort to be prepared for a very unlikely situation, I am trying to get some info on what would be the best 12ga slug for rhino and elephant etc. I am a police officer that works latewatch, and my division includes the city zoo. In the unlikely event an animal would escape and present an immediate threat, I would like to have a better option than what I already carry. The slugs the department issues are reduced recoil and I doubt they hold together well. I already regularly carry a 12ga smooth bore (and AR-15, but I assume it is no contest that the shotgun is my better option). I'm sure there are much better options out there, but carrying another long gun for such an unlikely scenario is not really feasible. But I figure carrying a few boxes of a high-powered slug that will penetrate well is no inconvenience at all. And in case anyone is wondering, we do have protocols in place if a potentially dangerous animal were to escape. But in my experience of working latewatch for 8+ years, most protocols for rare events are written for business hours. It always takes longer for people on call (i.e. SWAT) to arrive during the night. So any suggestions on a good 12ga slug for a smooth bore (Remington 870, 18 inch, up to 3" shells) to put down anything up to a crazed elephant would be appreciated. Thank you
hoosierleo is offline   Reply With Quote