Is there any reason to not use a scope when hunting deer? - Shotgun Forums

Shotgun

Is there any reason to not use a scope when hunting deer?

This is a discussion on Is there any reason to not use a scope when hunting deer? within the General Hunting and Conservation forums, part of the Hunting category; I live in a shotgun only area and I’m new to hunting. I’m going to get a rifled Savage 220 with a scope for deer ...

Go Back   Shotgun Forums > Hunting > General Hunting and Conservation

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2020, 09:37 AM   #1

Member #17768
Is there any reason to not use a scope when hunting deer?

I live in a shotgun only area and I’m new to hunting. I’m going to get a rifled Savage 220 with a scope for deer hunting.

I’m wondering if I should also get a non scoped shotgun? Is there any situations where a non scoped shotgun would be better for deer hunting? And if yes what kind of shotgun/sights would you recommend?

I’m also thinking of rabbit/turkey hunting so if I get a second gun I’d like it to be a jack of all trades type of shotgun where I can hunt deer, rabbit, turkey etc.

Thanks for your answers.
stubtoeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 07-06-2020, 12:16 PM   #2

Member #7073
All good questions stubtoeman but a lot of the shooters here are trap and skeet people or like me in a State where rifles are used for hunting ...but I would think a low power scope would work well..I think the experts will be along soon..
packrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 06:05 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Member #1368
Maybe a Red Dot in lieu of a scope?
ChanceMcCall likes this.
oneounceload is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-07-2020, 11:14 AM   #4

Member #9953
No reason not to use a low power scope or a red dot on a slug gun for deer.

On my Mossberg 500 I used a no-gunsmith saddle mount with a Bushnell 1.5-4 scope.

Good Luck.
Hard H2O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 08:01 PM   #5